Uncategorized

First post..Guess it should be about who we are!

Who the heck are you?

My name is Tiffany and I am 1/2 of The Rogue Fae. My husband, Houston, is the other handsome half. What is “The Rogue Fae“? Well, it’s two people, four hands, and a lot of leather! We started our own small business to sell hand made leather items like purses, wallets, bracelets, money clips, flasks, etc. You name it and we either already make it or would love to design it! We order whole hides of leather, cut it down to the pieces of our design, tool it, stain it, and stitch it by hand. Many of the pieces take hours, if not days, to make.

How did this all start?

It all started with attending a renaissance fair back when we were still dating. Houston was drawn to the leather armor but not the price tag! So he bought his first set of tools and a whole hide of leather and started to make his own. I was hesitant at first (leather isn’t cheap, but it was cheaper than the armor!) but I loved how creative he was and encouraged him all the same. Out came his first self made design, a pair of bracers, and a whole bunch of awesome anniversary, birthday, and Christmas gifts for me (there was a lot of leftover from the hide)! Turns out he was extremely good at working with the medium and his desire to learn helped him develop his skill. When I saw how amazing he was I thought it would be interesting to see what would happen if we started putting some of his work on Etsy, an online marketplace for handmade and vintage items. We also started to attend craft fairs and received amazing feedback. Over time my interest in leather working grew and Houston began to pass along his knowledge. Soon we were spending all of our spare time together working on leather and thoroughly enjoying ourselves!

Interesting..Then what?

The growth of our little business was slow as I was finishing my masters degree at the University of Rhode Island and we were planning our wedding, but it still managed to reach out to people. Now we are nearing five months of marriage (at the time this was written in 2012. Now we are going on 5 1/2 YEARS of marriage in 2018!) and I have dedicated my daily routine to managing our shop. In that short period of time we were personally asked to supply three individual shops with a variety of items, completed our first wholesale order, and started to receive bulk orders from brides to make wedding party gifts!

Houston and I are both so excited that our hard work is finally paying off. With Houston being a full time Coast Guardsman, it is amazing how devoted he is to both me and our customers. While patrolling with his crew, he somehow finds time after an incredibly long day to tool and stitch leather!

Why should I follow this blog?

The hope, with this blog, is that you can get to know us on a more personal level, receive some insight about our creative process, and gain access to some sweet coupons, deals, and giveaways (who doesn’t like that??). We are also incredibly interested in YOU! We love our customers; we love feedback; we love commissioned orders; but most importantly we would love to interact with you. Sure, it’s great to buy things online and it’s fairly easy for me to get you access to our products online, but Houston and I both enjoy a more personal involvement. That’s one of the reasons we enjoy fairs and vendor events! So, please feel free to comment, ask questions, or tell us how your day is. We are totally interested!

CLICK TO SHOP!

2 thoughts on “First post..Guess it should be about who we are!”

Leave a comment